Moroccan biodiversity

Souss – Massa

The Souss-Massa region covers an area of 53,789 km², i.e. 7.6% of the national territory, and includes two prefectures (Agadir Ida Outanane and Inzegane Ait Melloul) and four provinces (Chtouka Ait Baha, Taroudant, Tiznit, and Tata), which group together 175 communes (21 urban communes and 154 rural communes). The region is limited to the north by the Marrakech-Safi region, to the south by the Guelmim-Oued Noun region, to the east by the Drâa-Tafilelt region and the Algerian border, and to the west by the Atlantic Ocean. Its capital is Agadir.

  • Land resources: The agricultural sector constitutes one of the major pillars of the region’s economic activity, despite unfavourable climatic factors; a dry climate and a UAA of only about (9%) of the total regional area (450,000 hectares). The most fertile lands are essentially located in the plains of Souss Massa, where early crops and citrus fruits are the main productions.
  • Cereal crops (barley, durum wheat, soft wheat): 234,290 tonnes on 451,165 hectares
  • Legume crops: 500 quintals on 100 hectares
  • Vegetable crops: 1,600,295 tonnes
  • Citrus crops: 812,836.8 tonnes on 40,065 hectares
  • Sea fishing (pelagic fish, white fish, cephalopods, shellfish): The region has a 180km-long coastline, yielding 30,625 tonnes of fishing activity valued at MAD318,949,000